A History of Gamma Chapter

In the spring of 1910 a group of friends and colleagues of the Alpha Alpha Epsilon Fraternity of the Penn State College began a new chapter of Alpha Gamma Rho.  With the help of Sleeter Bull of Ohio State (Beta Chapter), the group signed the new constitution at the local Bush House Tavern, in Bellefonte, Pa. on February 4, 1911.

Penn State became home to the third, or Gamma, chapter of Alpha Gamma Rho at a time when Penn State was one of the premier Agricultural Universities in the world.

The Fraternity settled at 501 West College Ave., where it would remain until 1929 when funds for a new chapter house were raised. The new house was constructed at 322 Thompson St. (today, 322 Fraternity Row).  The new house, built of Pennsylvania Limestone, was built in a timeless style, combining class and functionality.


In 1966 the house burned and the Brothers relocated to a temporary facility.  Only a few items inside were saved. The house's interior was soon rebuilt to its current state in 1968.

In the Fall of 2010, Gamma Chapter has just reopened its doors after almost a year of work while undergoing $2.5 million renovations to remain one of the best housing facilities at Penn State.  The newly refurbished House features all new plumbing and electrical work, as well as updating the entire interior cosmetically- including all new dormitory rooms, bathrooms, wash rooms, chapter rooms, state of the art industrial kitchen, and side deck

In 2011 Gamma Chapter celebrated its centennial anniversary at Penn State.  A benchmark for a proud tradition of a 100 years of continuous Brotherhood.

Alpha Gamma Rho remains an institution at Penn State, still recognizable with its limestone and white portico, and providing social, mental, moral, and physical development for extraordinary young men.